Meeting from 1-18-10

Getting together with other women to talk about homeschool is like rehydration for me! My kids like it when I go to my Mommy-Meeting, as they call it. Of course they get to have their ‘Ma come over so they can’t wait to push me out the door so they can watch anything and eat whatever ‘Ma will let them.

God has blessed us with each other. Can you imagine doing homeschool without such a support system, those who know when you say, “My house is a mess,” that you mean a Continually Perpetuating mess generated by NOT YOU! Or when you say, “We had a bad homeschool day [week, year],” that we all can relate somehow. Nobody, and I mean Nobody, has the perfect homeschool. But the God of Perfection can instill in us the drive to get it done so that His perfect will is accomplished in our homes.

I’m listing some of the books we discussed at the meeting Monday.

Shakespeare

Beautiful Stories From Shakespeare by Edith Nesbit
For the younger ones, probably around age 6.

Tales From Shakespeare by Charles and Mary Lamb
Also recommended on Ambleside at about age 6. We are calling it the “next in line” after Beautiful Stories.

Shakespeare Stories by Leon Garfield
And this would be a little older version.

Around year 4 (4th grade, or about age 10) you should begin the actual plays. Shakespeare has a way of pointing out the sin nature of man. Careful about sensitive issues, though. Preview first!

I’m including here a link to some family-friendly Shakespeare movies. That should be fun…there will now be a shortage of Shakespeare at the library as we are all going to rush out and get them, right?

Dickens

A Christmas Carol

Tales of Two Cities

David Copperfield

We didn’t discuss for too long on Dickens.

History

Our Island Story by H.E. Marshall
This book is filled with great stories from British history. It paints the picture of America’s ancestors as real life people with thoughts, emotions, faults, and failures. It is complete with action and drama that is appropriate for about age 7+ (although my 5 yo seems to be gleaning some tidbits here and there).

This Country of Ours by H. E. Marshall
This is the USA version of Our Island Story. Ambleside takes a slow journey through the readings.

A Child’s History of the World by V. M. Hillyer
I have heard many great recommendations for this world history book. I have it but haven’t read it to my kids yet. There is a precautionary to this one in that the first 4-5 chapters are evolution- centered.

Story of the World by Susan Wise Bauer
I didn’t bring this one but two others did. I’ve read Volume 1 to my kids and they like it a lot. It’s not in story form, though there are some stories in it here and there. So this would not be considered Charlotte Mason.  Well, let me rephrase; it is touted as Classical material, yet I’ve found that it fits very well into my highly saturated CM curriculum.  Ambleside Online uses Volume 4 in Year 5 because they felt it was the best literary work for the content.

Trial & Triumph by Richard M. Hannula
Stories from Church history. The Ambleside curriculum works though this very slowly. It fosters some great discussion on faith.

Fifty Famous Stories & Viking Tales
These are great historical fiction stories. Fun to read.

Lief the Lucky, Columbus, Pocahontas, George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Abraham Lincoln, & Buffalo Bill by Ingri & D’Aulaire
These are well-illustrated, easy books to read. Biographical and in story form.

Paul Revere’s Ride by H. W. Longfellow & illustrated by Ted Rand
You can probably find this poem for free online. My illustrated copy has a map of the men who took the risk to warn their countrymen of the impending attack and where they were captured.

Leave a comment